Rodney O. Tucker, MD MMM

Rodney O. Tucker, MD MMM is a native Alabamian who graduated from medical school at UAB in 1989 and is now board certified in Internal Medicine and Hospice and Palliative Medicine.  After a career in private practice, home care and hospice services, Dr. Tucker returned to his alma mater in 2002.  Since that time, he has been active at UAB in the development of a comprehensive clinical, educational and research program in palliative care, including the Southeast Institute for Innovation in Palliative and Supportive Care at UAB.  Serving currently as the Director of the UAB Center for Palliative and Supportive Care. Dr. Tucker also completed his Masters in Medical Management at the University of Southern California in 2009. At UAB, Dr. Tucker has provided leadership in the opening of a 12-bed inpatient palliative care unit in 2006 and in the development of an ambulatory HIV palliative care clinic in the past.  The UAB Center provides care for over 3,000 new patients annually and is currently a CAPC designated Palliative Care Leadership CenterTM

 Dr. Tucker has been an active member of the American Academy of Hospice and Palliative Medicine (AAHPM) and the Center for the Advancement of Palliative Care (CAPC) for over a decade, having served in several leadership roles in the Academy including serving on the Board of Directors since 2014.  He has participated in the education and mentorship of over 300 fellow learners and health care systems over the past decade and currently holds the Ritchie Endowed Chair in Palliative Care Leadership at UAB.  From 2013-2018, Dr. Tucker also served in the role of Chief Experience Officer for UAB Medicine.  In that role Dr. Tucker worked with Alabama’s largest employer in the practice of evidence-based leadership and communication to enhance the patient experience in the setting of a changing healthcare environment.  Currently Dr. Tucker serves as the Chairman of the State of Alabama Advisory Council on Palliative Care and Quality of Life as well as the President of AAHPM beginning in March of 2020.